Junior Skid Pan Experience

£129
N/A hours long
Icon of circuit
N/A laps covered
N/A miles covered

For junior drivers over 12 years old who have some driving experience but do not hold a full driving licence.

  • Learn how to control a skidding car
  • Drive new front and rear wheel drive cars
  • Give yourself the best chance to control a sliding car
Only   £129

About the Junior Skid Pan Experience

For junior drivers over 12 years old who have some driving experience but do not hold a full driving licence.

A one-hour session on the skid pan driving both the MINI Cooper and Toyota GT86. Both cars have dual controls.

Each session will run with two participants, the pupil, when driving, is always accompanied by the instructor. Each session will start with a short instructor demonstration.

The pupil will then drive the front wheel drive Mini cooper & the rear wheel drive Toyota GT86. At the end of the session all participants would have had equal time as a driver in the MINI Cooper and Toyota GT86.

Driving Content

Straight line slalom, weight transfer and direction change, controlling understeer and oversteer.

Exercises will be experienced with all electronic stability systems, traction control and ABS switched on, while the pupil gains confidence and control. Gaining an understanding of what the systems do.

Electronic stability systems, Traction control & ABS switched off increasing the difficulty and making the pupil work much harder.

We also offer a Junior driving experience for children without any driving experience: Junior Driving Experience

The Cars

Image of Toyota GT86

Toyota GT86

A 200bhp revvy flat four engine, light weight and a limited slip differential make the perfect car to experience the skid pan

0-60
7.6 seconds
Top Speed
140 mph
Power
197 bhp
Torque
151 lb/ft
Engine Size
2.0 litre 4 cylinder
Gearbox
6 speed paddleshift
Configuration
Front engine rear wheel drive
Image of Mini Cooper

Mini Cooper

Retains all the spirit and fun of the two preceding models with the often quoted kart like handling qualities ? it is true, even on the skid pan.

0-60
9.0 seconds
Top Speed
126 mph
Power
122 bhp
Torque
160 lb/ft
Engine Size
1.6 litre 4 cylinder
Gearbox
6 speed manual
Configuration
Front engine front wheel drive

Junior Skid Pan Experience Availability

Open Dated Voucher

Open Voucher Valid for 12 months - £129

Show Dates For

Tuesday 12 December 2017 - £129
Call Us
Saturday 16 December 2017 - £129
Call Us
Saturday 20 January 2018 - £129
Call Us
Thursday 25 January 2018 - £129
Call Us
Sunday 28 January 2018 - £129
Call Us
Saturday 3 February 2018 - £129
Call Us
Sunday 11 February 2018 - £129
Call Us
Monday 12 February 2018 - £129
Call Us
Saturday 17 February 2018 - £129
Call Us
Wednesday 21 February 2018 - £129
Call Us
Sunday 25 February 2018 - £129
Call Us
Sunday 4 March 2018 - £129
Call Us
Monday 12 March 2018 - £129
Call Us
Sunday 18 March 2018 - £129
Call Us
Wednesday 21 March 2018 - £129
Call Us
Saturday 24 March 2018 - £129
Call Us
Saturday 7 April 2018 - £129
Call Us
Sunday 15 April 2018 - £129
Call Us
Wednesday 18 April 2018 - £129
Call Us
Thursday 19 April 2018 - £129
Call Us
Saturday 21 April 2018 - £129
Call Us
Sunday 6 May 2018 - £129
Call Us
Saturday 12 May 2018 - £129
Call Us
Saturday 26 May 2018 - £129
Call Us
Monday 11 June 2018 - £129
Call Us
Saturday 16 June 2018 - £129
Call Us
Sunday 17 June 2018 - £129
Call Us
Wednesday 20 June 2018 - £129
Call Us
Saturday 23 June 2018 - £129
Call Us

Gift Pack Options

Image of Premium Gift Box

Premium Gift Box - £4

This gift pack includes a Thruxton branded gift box. Inside the box is a presentation card of their driving experience - showing the exact driving experience the recipient has been given, complete with image of the main car in the driving experience taken by ace automotive photographer Pete Gibson.

Image of Standard Gift Box

Standard Gift Box - Free

Gift pack will include our current brochure, list of dates to attend and a personalised card for the recipient with their name and a personalised message.

Why Buy A Driving Experience From Thruxton

Our Top 5

  1. No on the day pressure to purchase expensive accident damage waiver at registration. The price you see is the price you pay
  2. Thruxton is the fastest race track in the UK and a fully licensed FIA venue - not a disused airfield.
  3. No 70mph speed limits or numerous "cone chicanes" to keep the speed artificially slow
  4. The latest models from Ferrari, Lamborghini and Aston Martin
  5. You drive on the full 2.4 mile circuit as used by the British Touring Car Championship (BTCC) and other top class championships plus we have all the expected venue spectator facilities
View all the benefits of Thruxton

Need to Know Information

This experience can be purchased as an open gift voucher valid for 1 year from the date of purchase.

This experience operates from Thruxton Circuit state of the art Skid Pan facility in Hampshire.

Available for anyone over 12 years of age with some driving experience.

Drivers must be over 4ft 10 inches (1.47m) tall.

All sessions are exclusively for Junior/Learner drivers.

All vehicles used are fitted with dual controls.

We operate on selected dates within the school holidays - Hampshire dates.

Spectators are welcome - free of charge.

If you need to contact the Skid Pan on the day of your experience, please call 01264 316156.

We also offer a Junior driving experience for children without any driving experience: Junior Driving Experience