2016 BTCC - Tom Ingram Takes Pole Position & Lap Record

07 May 16

Tom Ingram has taken his second pole position of the season after the young gun broke the Thruxton lap record during qualifying for Round 10 of the 2016 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship.

The Speedworks Motorsport driver experienced a stressful opening to the session as he had his first two flying lap times removed by officials for not respecting track limits. Ingram wasn’t alone in being pegged back, however, as a host of drivers were penalised for cutting the final chicane in the early stages.

Championship leader Matt Neal was among those to be demoted, but the multiple champ responded brilliantly with a staggering lap time in his ballast-laden Honda Civic Type R. The Halfords Yuasa Racing driver held provisional pole until Ingram’s effort, and he would eventually have to settle for third due to a flying Scotsman.

Ordinarily you would expect that term to be reserved for reigning champion Gordon Shedden, but on this occasion it was the impressive teenager Aiden Moffat who wowed the crowds. The young Laser Tools Racing driver starred during practice earlier today and he duly backed that up by making the front row in qualifying – his best ever result.

Neal had parked his Honda long before the finish, believing that he’d dragged every last bit of performance from his car. Although dropping to third late on the experienced racer will be pleased to have fended off another eye-catching attack from MG’s young duo.

Ashley Sutton and Josh Cook produced a front row lockout at Donington Park last time out, and will start tomorrow’s opener from fourth and fifth on the grid, with the latter getting the better of his rookie team-mate on this occasion.

Adam Morgan proved the performance of the Mercedes A-Class by planting his WIX Racing machine inside the top six, which seemed some way off earlier today after a high-speed shunt forced the squad to produce some rolling repairs.

Jeff Smith made the top ten for the first time since Rockingham in 2010 as the Eurotech racer ended up just 0.015s behind Morgan.

Andrew Jordan couldn’t match his practice pace and ended up eighth in his Pirtek Racing Ford Focus, whilst BKR’s Aron Smith and WSR’s Sam Tordoff completed the top ten order.

Original article taken from www.btcc.net

Saturday also saw the first races of the weekend for the Protyre Motorsport Ginetta GT5 Challenge and the newly renamed British F4 Championship.

Petru Florescu won in the F4 British Championship. Full race report here

Ollie Chadwick in the Protyre Motorsport Ginetta GT5 Challenge. Both race again tomorrow.

Tickets for tomorrow are available on the gate. £32 per adult, children 15 and under go free.